Sweet Potato Casserole

19 Nov

 

Sometimes you can tell how beloved a recipe is by noting the condition of the card it’s written on.

When the ink is running and butter splotches dot the surface, you know it’s a keeper.  I’m very happy to share this one with you….again.  I’m pretty sure I shared this exact recipe on my blog last Thanksgiving.  So yes, here it is again.  It’s just that good.

Let me state right here that this is not something you want to make on any regular basis.  It’s great for special meals and holidays.  Why?  Because it’s FULL of butter and sugar.  Not even kidding.  It’s like candy.

Start with canned sweet taters.  For a 9×13 pan, you’ll need three large (29 oz) cans.  If you’re really ambitious, you can cook your own sweet potatoes.  I have never made this recipe with actual taters because canned ones are super easy and taste amazing.

Dump them all into a strainer to remove liquid.

Then use your potato masher to mash them up all nice and soft.  If you’re a dork like me, you will think ‘Hey, why not mash them right in the strainer?’ and you will end up with this.

Another sign of a true, genuine dork:  Assume you have all necessary ingredients when, in fact, you have only one.  Quick run to the grocery store…..

Butter.  LOTS of butter.  2 and 1/3 cups of butter (including the topping).  My arteries hurt.

Couldn’t be simpler, though.  You mix all the ingredients in your mixer (did I mention there are six eggs? OHH, the cholesterol!)….

….and you are rewarded with a pan of casserole that looks like this.

But don’t slide it into the oven just yet.

The best part is next – the topping.

That’s right – more butter.

I like to use the pastry blender to blend the brown sugar, flour (gluten-free, in my case), butter and chopped walnuts.

Now spread the topping on and git ‘er done!

You’ll see a photo of the finished product in my next blog post.  Tomorrow is our early Thanksgiving dinner at my sister’s house.  Weeeeeee!!!!  I will be trying VERY hard to keep myself g-free.  Shouldn’t be too difficult – most of the things I love are naturally g-free: turkey, cranberry sauce, mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes….  Will be hard to pass up the gravy and the rolls, but I shall overcome.

Here’s the recipe.  Enjoy!

SWEET POTATO CASSEROLE

9 c cooked, mashed sweet potatoes

1 1/2 c sugar

1 c butter, melted

6 eggs

Mix and put in buttered dish.  If saving til next day, put in fridge til ready to add topping and bake.

Topping:

1 1/2 c brown sugar

1/2 c flour

1 1/2 c chopped nuts (I use walnuts…pecans are good too)

1/3 c cold butter, cut into small cubes

Mix, crumble and put on top of sweet potatoes.  Bake at 350.  If potatoes are cold, bake 1 hour.  If they are room temperature, bake 45 minutes.

While I was going through some of the recipes in my box, I found this caramel corn recipe that I also thought I’d share with you. Again, only once in awhile.  It is such a delectable treat!  My hubby can vouch for the yumminess.  He has requested that I make it again soon. 🙂

So this came today….

…. and this cornball is here.  So I must bid you adieu.

Have a wonderful evening and thank you for stopping by! ❤

One Response to “Sweet Potato Casserole”

  1. Steph November 19, 2011 at 5:36 pm #

    I had to laugh at your well loved recipe! Ya know the cranberry apple jello salad I make every year for Thanksgiving?? The recipe card is a disaster! LOL See ya tomorrow! Come with sweet potatoes in hand. 🙂

Leave a Reply

