Wendy’s Chili (Literally!)

10 Nov

 

Does this look familiar?

I’m not big on fast food, but if I’m going to run through a drive-thru or grab a quick meal when I’m out, this is usually my first choice.  I love Wendy’s chili.  It’s got just the right amount of spice, it’s naturally gluten-free, it’s full of healthy beans and veggies, and it’s delicious!

As my hubby and I sat at Wendy’s enjoying our cups of chili last weekend, I thought, ‘I really need to try to make this at home.  I wonder if it can be done.’  That night I looked for a copycat recipe online and up popped this web page:

Wendy’s Copycat Chili Recipe

Bingo!  Bought the ingredients a few days ago and gave it my best shot today.

All done!  Tossing everything together in a giant pot was a piece o’ cake.  Simmering it for three hours was a piece o’ cake.  It was the stirring every 15 minutes that was a tiny  bit tedious (I set a timer to go off every 15 minutes because I was not willing to risk this precious chili getting burned to the bottom of the pan!).

Topped it with shredded cheese and sour cream.

It.  Was.  PERFECT.

Tasted exactly like Wendy’s.

Maybe it’s the name.  😉

I’m not kidding you.  It was as good as it looks and it was the perfect thing for this cold fall evening.  If you share my fondness for Wendy’s chili, you will want to try this recipe.  Just make sure you make it on a day that you’re going to be home to…well, stir.  It might be easily adapted to the crock pot.  I’ll probably try that next time.

RECIPE SUCCESS, baby!!!!

Just one more thing.  I’m envisioning something in this space:

Picture a pot rack hanging from the ceiling above the counter.  Lots of hooks for lots of pots and pans.  Wouldn’t that be fab?!  The inspiration for this little daydream came right from Susan Branch, of course.  Wow, would it be nice to free up my messy pots and pans cupboard!  Hmmm.  Maybe someday!

Thanks so much for stopping by!

3 Responses to “Wendy’s Chili (Literally!)”

  1. Jennie November 10, 2011 at 8:23 pm #

    I LOVE Wendy’s chili! How did you know? Seriously, this meal is going on the shopping list for groceries tomorrow.
    That’s a fantastic place for pots and pan- that will be so cute and homey! Thanks for sharing the beany, cheesy goodness! 🙂

  2. Amber November 10, 2011 at 8:24 pm #

    Yum! 🙂

  3. Susan November 10, 2011 at 9:03 pm #

    Can’t wait for Brad to try it!

Leave a Reply

