Operation Cake Pops

6 Nov

 

When you’re going to be spending a significant part of the day in the kitchen you need some background sounds.  I know it’s early November, so forgive me.  These are my two favorite Christmas CDs I’ve ever owned and from now until December 25 they will be played pretty much every time I’m planning to spend a significant part of the day in the kitchen.

Mom gave me a cake pop maker for my birthday and since we stayed home today with stuffy noses and coughs (and I didn’t even get out of my jammies!), it seemed like a cake pop kind of day.  I’d heard mixed reviews on this particular model and was anxious to try it firsthand.

I used a yellow cake mix and added extra flour in an effort to make the cake balls a bit more dense.

As you can see, the reservoirs were filled with a little too much batter for batch number 1.  For this batch I used a large melon baller to put the batter in, and it was somewhat difficult to fill them neatly; hence, the spillover/messy rims on the balls.

The pop maker comes with a cooling tray that doubles as a cake pop stick holder when you’re done.  Pretty nifty.  Now, pay close attention to this batch because….

…. between batches 1 and 2, I found this little Tupperware doohickey:

You pour batter in the bottom – and it holds more than you would think – put the tip on and squeeze neat little blobs into the reservoirs.  Observe:

See?  Batch number 2 looks a lot better!

You will notice, too, that they are not perfectly round and that there is a little ridge in the middle.  My advice:  Don’t sweat it.   This has very little impact on the finished product once it’s covered in icing.

A friend advised me to put the cake balls in the freezer for two hours to make icing them easier.  She was right.  This helped a LOT.

While we’re waiting for our balls to freeze (really?!), please allow me to share with you two pictures of the two cutest kids in Volo.  Jacob and Blondie-butt had so much fun playing in the leaves this afternoon.  Doesn’t Jacob look just tickled pink that I’m taking another picture?  😉

He’ll thank me someday.

Originally, I was planning to just frost the pops with regular ol’ white frosting.  That didn’t work too well.  It would’ve taken forever and looked less than appetizing.  Found a giant bar of semisweet chocolate in the baking supplies cupboard, so I melted it in the microwave and dipped away.

I’m sure that candy melts (the little discs that melt beautifully into perfect-consistency icing) would have been the best thing to use.  This chocolate was pretty thick and gloppy, but it did the job well enough.

I would consider Operation Cake Pops a success.

Last year I attempted making the non-machine cake pops (the ones where you add frosting to the cake and roll into balls), and the balls were just too heavy and slid right down the sticks.  I was pleasantly surprised that these guys I made today stayed on the tippy top of the sticks.  Yes, that is success!  Woot!

So I will be making them again.  Next time, I will make sure to have some candy melts.  Maybe pink ones.  Ooooh, so cute!

I would give this cake pop maker an A-.  It was easy to use, fun, and the pops turned out very well.

Thanks for stopping by!

3 Responses to “Operation Cake Pops”

  1. ChubbyMama November 6, 2011 at 6:42 pm #

    Yum! Endless fun!! 🙂

  2. Kate November 8, 2011 at 8:25 am #

    Wendy! Great blog entry! Love it. 🙂 By the way, you can use the chocolate bark/bars. Add a little crisco to that too. 🙂 I was troubleshooting on the babycakes blog and it seems that crisco seems to be the advice on everything! 🙂 Your pops look amazing!

Leave a Reply

