Warm Kitchen, Warm Heart

4 Nov

Have you been craving nice, warm comfort food now that the really chilly days of fall are here?  I definitely have.

But before we go there, would you look at this glorious SKY that God painted last night?!

He is the best artist I know.  By far.

I noticed the amazing sky just after my two beautiful photo subjects left yesterday evening.  Oh wait.  There were three beautiful photo subjects.  If the camera’s in Mom’s hand, this girl simply has to ham it up.

Though her sweater clashed wickedly with the earth tones of the rug, she still looks extremely adorable.  😉

My official models were my friend Amy’s girls, Hannah and Ava.  Took lots of great shots and wanted to show ya my very favorite.  What I love about this one:  they girls look so natural and the green and red trees behind them serve as an extraordinary backdrop.

Okay.  Comfort food.  Truly, when the cold days come raging in my belly wants warm, savory num-nums in vast quantities.  Why does the onset of brisk, blustery weather make us hungier?  This week I have been talking to my food: “GIT IN MAH BELLY!!!!!!”

On Tuesday I whipped up a meat loaf in the crock pot.  I talk to my crock pot sometimes, too: “Crock pot, you make me swoon.  I love you quite a lot.”  It is so wonderful when you can toss some things in there in the morning, your house smells better and better as the day goes on, and by six o’clock dinner is READY!

Okay, in all fairness, I did have to make a couple of other things to have as sides.  This little bundle of Brussels sprouts had been patiently waiting in the veggie drawer for a few days and it was time to roast them up.

These guys have a pretty bad rap but if you toss them in some olive oil, sea salt, pepper and garlic powder they are DELICIOSO!

And, of course, it’s pretty much a rule that if you’re having meatloaf it must be accompanied by mashed potatoes.  Talk about warming the tummy!  This time I decided to try the skin-on variety.  If you use thin-skinned taters like yellow ones, the skin breaks into pieces that blend nicely with the rest of the mash.

They were perfect!

The very next evening was all about comfort food again.  I pulled out one of my favorite cookbooks by Susan Branch and got busy with cheeeeeeeese!

Since my tummy does not like gluten, I modified the recipe simply by using gluten-free noodles.

A whole pound of sharp cheddar!  That’s a lotta cheese!


Served it with some fresh steamed broccoli and loved every warm, comforting bite, as did Blondie-butt, who asked for seconds and thirds!

So that’s a little piece of the last couple of days in my little corner of the world.  Now it’s almost time to pick up the girly from school and get ready to make Chicken Caprese for tonight’s dinner.  I LOOOOOOVE the combination of mozzarella cheese, tomatoes and basil!

Thank you so much for reading.  Stay warm and cozy and….comfortable!  🙂


8 Responses to “Warm Kitchen, Warm Heart”

  1. ChubbyMama November 4, 2011 at 2:02 pm #

    Ok so I am not a usual fan of Brussel sprouts but my MIL made some last weekend that were SOOO Good!! I ate a ton of them! Chad was so surprised! They looked nice and golden like yours too…YUM! New fave! Now I just have to find some fresh ones around here!

    • foreverminephotography November 4, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

      Awesome! They really are soooo good when they’re seasoned and roasted! Once, I boiled them in water (just plain) and they were nasty. It’s all about how you cook ’em! Glad you liked them!

  2. Jennie November 4, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

    Okay- where do I begin? Blondie-Butt? How funny is that! What a cutie. So glad I’m not the only one who talks to the crock-pot; they really are wonderful, aren’t they? And that sunset! Talk about amazing. What a great view of it, too.
    Okay- so I’ve never cooked brussel sprouts in my life, but I do love roasted veggies, so I may have to pick some up and give them a try. Those do look pretty good and I’m about to head out to the store . . . 😉

    • Tammy November 4, 2011 at 7:19 pm #

      Meatloaf in a crock pot. Who’d a thunk it?

      I’m going to have to try that.

      Pan roasted brussel sprouts….mmmmm….my fav!

      • foreverminephotography November 4, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

        It’s so good, Tammy. Let me know if you’d like the recipe!

        Sent from my iPad

    • foreverminephotography November 4, 2011 at 7:40 pm #

      Haha! Yeah, my poor girl has about a dozen nicknames. And she answers to all of ’em. 😉 You MUST try roasted Brussels sprouts – I bet you would love them!!

  3. Susan November 5, 2011 at 9:54 am #

    Ooh, can I have your meatloaf in a crockpot recipe? I loved that sunset as well!

Leave a Reply

