Feed the Birdies…. and Alvin, too?

2 Nov

Filling the bird feeder is not a daunting task.  I honestly can’t tell you why I wait so long.

Every time I fill the feeder, the back yard turns into a wildlife observatory.  Every day is a little adventure because you never know which critters you’re going to see and what kind of mayhem they’re going to be up to.

It took the sweet chickadees about a day and a half to discover that they could again feast upon the seed mix just outside our back window.  Have you ever had the simple pleasure of hearing a chickadee’s cheerful song?  It’s absolutely delightful!

But birds aren’t the only ones who want to feast.  See this little hole?  It’s right on the edge of the patio and if you were to guess who it belonged to, you would probably be right.

Yep.  Chipmunks.  Their music is not so delightful.  The loud, incessant CHIRP-CHIRP-CHIRPing is quite irritating.  But they’re so darn CUTE!

This afternoon my two eager companions and I spent some time waiting and watching, and sure enough….

….”nom nom nom nom nom”


There are several layers of pepper (regular black pepper because I didn’t have cayenne) in there, so maybe when he gets to that he’ll run for his underground haven and never venture up to the feeder again.  Until then, though, his cuteness wins out and I will let him feast.

I know.  Sucker!

Thank you so much for stopping by!

QUESTION FOR YOU: What is your favorite back yard critter?

3 Responses to “Feed the Birdies…. and Alvin, too?”

  1. Jennie November 2, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

    Just came to visit your blog, and already I am in love with your two cats- are they Maine Coons? They look so similar to my special baby who I lost years ago- he was a Maine Coon and the most amazing cat ever.
    Lucky you with chipmunks- we don’t have them where I live, so they’re probably pesky in their way, but they melt me. I’d be an old softie there too! 😉
    Lovely blog!

  2. Susan November 2, 2011 at 9:00 pm #

    Love my 2 chipmunks I have in the front! Ooh, and we get rabbits off and on too! My faves are my birds!

Leave a Reply

