October Afternoon

30 Oct

Do you remember my previous blog – the one that was 99% FOOD and 1% other miscellaneous subjects?  If you do – and if you liked it – then you might really enjoy this post.

My parents came up to spend the afternoon with us and I made a pretty decent lunch, which included Susan Branch’s “Nutty Carrots.”  Her cookbooks are so unique and adorable.

You will never, ever find me buying non-organic baby carrots.  Conventional baby carrots are soaked in bleach to make removing the skin easier.  I’ll have my carrots with NO bleach, thankyouverymuch.

The recipe calls for chopped walnuts (that you can pop in the oven for a few minutes to toast them), butter, honey, lemon juice and just a light sprinkling of pepper.

They were very tasty, indeed!

We also had ham-brie-apple sandwiches on fresh kaiser rolls from the bakery.  Okay, just the bakery inside the grocery store…. but they look purty, don’t they? 🙂

This was the first time I’d ever purchased brie cheese.  It’s very, very soft and very, very mild.  Probably wouldn’t use it on sandwiches again but it would be perfect to spread on crackers.

Sharp-cheddar kettle chips rounded out the meal and (shhhhhhh) they were my favorite part.  Omggggg.

I even pulled out the good tablecloth.

There’s something so cozy about sharing a special meal on a chilly autumn afternoon, don’t you think?  It’s like we all know that Jack Frost is just around the corner, ready to swoop in and cover everything in white.  But he’s not here just yet, and for now we look out the window at the gray, chilly day and thank God for the light and warmth that surround us inside.

Oh and guess what?  A monumental event took place.  Something that happens once in a blue moon.

I filled the birdie feeder.

And Dad talked me into a suet feeder during a quick run to Menard’s.  We weren’t sure where to hang it…. and finally decided to secure it with wire to the backyard swing.  Hoping to see some woodpeckers, chickadees, sparrows and cardinals feast upon the bounty very soon!  I looooooooove birds.  Cannot get enough of their sweet, musical cuteness.  Come soon, birdies!

Please pardon the poor pictures of the feeders.  I took them through raindrop-y windows.  The rain made it feel even cozier inside, because how can you not feel cozy with a blazing fire (in the fake fireplace – ha!)….

…. and a giant cat who loves to lay on the couch right behind you?

Thanks so much for stopping by!

Hope you and your little ones enjoy trick or treating tomorrow.  Have fun and be safe!

QUESTION FOR YOU:  What would you like to see more of in my blog?  Any suggestions?

2 Responses to “October Afternoon”

  1. Tammy November 2, 2011 at 5:31 pm #

    That sounds delicious! I didn’t know about the carrots being bleached…gasp!

    Hmmmm…..I think if the food sounds this good, then bring on the recipes!!!

    • foreverminephotography November 2, 2011 at 8:45 pm #

      Tammy, that’s a good idea! Very soon I’m going to blog about comfort foods and will include recipes for crock pot meatloaf and gluten-free Mac and cheese! 😀

      Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

