This is the Day

29 Oct

Ya know how you sometimes wake up with a specific song in your head?  I love it when it’s this one:

This is the day, this is the day 
That the Lord hath made, that the Lord hath made 
We will rejoice, we will rejoice 
And be glad in it, and be glad in it 
This is the day that the Lord hath made 
We will rejoice and be glad in it 
This is the day, this is the day 
That the Lord hath made!

And sometimes you say a prayer right when you get up, thanking Him for another new day and all that it will hold.  This beautiful autumn Saturday held…. a lot!

But first, please allow me to show you our favorite neighbors.  On the left is Jacob and on the right is Simon.  I love Halloween!

Now on to our busy day.  It actually started out on a sad note.  Some new friends were supposed to come over for dinner tonight but had to cancel because my sweet friend Dana came down with the sickies.  Really hope she feels better soon!   So with a whole Saturday spread before us, we decided it would be the perfect day to go to the storage unit and bring truckloads of its contents back home.  Doesn’t that sound like a hoot?  You know you’re jealous.

Why did we choose to carry out this oodles-of-fun task today?  Well, a couple reasons.  First, we want to eliminate all monthly payments that are not completely necessary to our survival.  Seriously.  In this economy we have been learning to live with less.  And to be completely honest, we’re loving it.  Also, today we had two trucks – the Durango and a Dodge Ram, which is a loaner vehicle from the dealership while the Charger is in for repairs.  Several weeks ago, an 89-year-old woman rear-ended me so the repairs are pretty extensive.  89 years old.  Don’t get me started.

But I digress.

This is what things looked like by the time we got everything from the storage unit loaded into the garage.

Nothing like organized chaos, right?

With some help from a couple of eager cul-de-sac friends, we got the job done in record time.

The “after” picture (everything stacked on one side of the garage so that one vehicle will still fit):

One of the great things about going through long-neglected “stuff” is unearthing things that you’re delighted to have found again!

…. Like this stack of colorful placemats that shall have new life in my dining room….
…. and this cheerful little guy who’s saying “Happy Fall!”
Scotty and I shared several “pound-its” after the job was finished.  Woot!!
After a job well-done (if’n I do say so), I got in a killer workout and introduced a new iPad game to the kitties.  Yes, there are apps especially for cats.  They were intrigued.
Made a crustless quiche for dinner and we pretty much ate only the top layer because the bottom was too dough-ey.  The top, however, was fab.
Looking forward to tomorrow – Gwama and Papa are coming and I’m going to make a deeeelicious lunch.  Maybe I’ll blog about it.  😉
Thank you so much for visiting.  I hope you’ll come back often.
Oh wait, wait!  I wanted to tell you real quickly about two blogs that I LOVE.  LOVE LOVE LOVE.  This first one inspired me to start blogging again.  Susan Branch is an artist (maybe you’ve seen her greeting cards, stationery, calendars, stickers, etc…) and a sweet, friendly woman who is great at chronicling her life in Martha’s Vineyard.  Her life is enchanting.  Fairy tale-like.  I’m so glad she shares it with us.  Visit her blog by clicking here!
And just today I stumbled upon Tammy’s Photography Spot.  What drew me in was a photo she took of a little chickadee eating right out of her hand!  And it just gets better from there.  She is a truly talented photographer and I can’t wait to follow her blog every day.
QUESTION FOR YOU:  What’s the funnest thing you did today?
2 Responses to “This is the Day”

  1. Susan October 30, 2011 at 8:53 am #

    Love your photog blog, and you! Must get together soon my friend!

  2. Tammy October 30, 2011 at 6:51 pm #

    Wow, that was quite a day! I love the kitty app…too cute 🙂

    Thanks so much for the shout out. I sure hope you’ll stop by tomorrow and share a photo story on “Behind The Camera”!

Leave a Reply

