Little Projects

25 Oct

They said it was gonna be sunny this morning.  They were wrong. 

IMG_9318

So what better thing to do when you’re stuck inside than revamp your linen closet?  Winking smile

IMG_9296

As you can see, the upstairs linen closet contains not one linen.  Not a towel or bed sheet to be found.  Instead, I have been using this closet for "kitchen overflow.” 

Do you ever watch that “Extreme Couponing” show?  I have not seen it because I think it would drive me slightly batty, but a few years ago I went through a somewhat-extreme couponing phase and stockpiled food in this closet.  We all know happens when you stockpile food for a small family of three.

IMG_9297

That’s right – you end up with a collection of expired food.  Look at this one.  2003, y’all!

IMG_9298

I tossed a trash bag full of old food, then visited the kitchen overflow shelves in the garage where several small appliances and various baking pans, etc. have been housed for the last few years.  Dusted them off and tucked them into their new home.  This is how the closet looks now.

IMG_9299IMG_9300IMG_9303IMG_9305IMG_9310IMG_9320

Despite a trip up the stairs, it will be nice having things within quick, organized reach.  Cake stands, specialty pans, cookie cutters, even extra powdered sugar and flours…. they’re all here now.  I still keep the basics in the kitchen, of course, but when the hankerin’ to make a batch of flower-shaped muffins strikes I know where to go. 

Oh, and during my little project, the eyes of an ever-curious petite Maine coon were watching my every move.  Good thing I have her to supervise things around here, right? 

IMG_9325

Thanks for reading my little blog today! 

QUESTION FOR YOU:  Do you have a “kitchen overflow” area in your house or can you fit everything into your cupboards?

8 Responses to “Little Projects”

  1. Mom October 25, 2011 at 11:29 am #

    I learned a long time ago that it’s rare to have enough cabinet space in the kitchen, especially when our family were such avid Pampered Chef adicts. I have those same flowered muffin pans plus many others in the spare room closet that has more shelves than rods in it.

    • foreverminephotography October 25, 2011 at 5:22 pm #

      I KNOW! Sometimes I feel like if we had a kitchen the size of a football field there STILL wouldn’t be enough room for everything!

  2. devon October 25, 2011 at 11:58 am #

    I have a pantry for food in our kitcen, but I’m thinking about adding shelfs to one of two of our closets down here and using it for kitchen overflow. Good idea Wendy!

    • foreverminephotography October 25, 2011 at 5:22 pm #

      Thanks Dev! I think you’d love having a few shelves for overflow…. it does come in handy!

  3. Susan October 25, 2011 at 1:16 pm #

    I am super-couponing, but not extreme, am putting overflow of goodies in huge laundry room closet. Hey, if you bake Christmas cookies, can i come help?

  4. Susan October 25, 2011 at 1:17 pm #

    Please? haha

  5. Tammy October 29, 2011 at 10:43 am #

    Definitely overflow….in the laundry room. A total pain in the rump when you need something that is not in the kitchen 😦

    Love that last photo of you kitty…King of all he surveys.

Leave a Reply

