The Beauty of the Bog

12 Oct

Some people, in order to discover God, read books.  But there is a great book: the very appearance of created things.  Look above you!  Look below you!  Read it.  God, whom you want to discover, never wrote that book with ink.  Instead He set before your eyes the things that He had made.  Can you ask for a louder voice than that?     – St. Augustine

I I have lived in Volo, Illinois for almost seven years.  Maybe you’ve heard of the Volo Auto Museum, the landmark that puts us on the map.  I’ve been there.  It’s okay.  Once every few years or so.

The other landmark up here in the boonies is the Volo Bog.

 

IMG_8868

This nature preserve is about a mile from our house.  After finally visiting the bog this morning, I can’t stop asking myself WHY we haven’t been there before!

IMG_8975

Early this morning, amidst the hustle of getting Liss ready for school and planning the day, I decided it was time to get there.  With my camera.  Today is one of the last warm days that we’ll have before fall really makes its presence known, so I put aside everything else I should’ve been doing this morning and off to the bog I went. 

Wow.

Please enjoy these photos.  They do not do the bog justice – the nature around me literally sparkled.  Once again, the glory and endless creativity of God was everywhere.  Today He showed me an absolutely majestic chapter in His book and I’m ecstatic to share it with you.

(Remember – if you click on a photo it will enlarge for you!)

 

IMG_8870IMG_8874IMG_8872IMG_8878IMG_8880IMG_8881IMG_8883IMG_8885

IMG_8887IMG_8888IMG_8907IMG_8892IMG_8897IMG_8900IMG_8905IMG_8910IMG_8913

IMG_8917IMG_8925IMG_8928IMG_8930IMG_8934IMG_8937IMG_8945IMG_8947IMG_8951

IMG_8953IMG_8955IMG_8959IMG_8964IMG_8967

IMG_8971

After about 45 minutes of blissful silent exploring, I heard the chatter of a group of kids.  Yep.  Field trip.  That was my cue to head home. 

IMG_8968

 

But my shutter finger was still hot so I took just a few shots of my next-door neighbor’s gorgeous foliage!

IMG_8977IMG_8976IMG_8978IMG_8980

 

Thank you so much stopping by!

Question for you:   What is your favorite part of nature?  Flowers, mountains, leaves, water…….?

8 Responses to “The Beauty of the Bog”

  1. Susan October 12, 2011 at 12:24 pm #

    Ooh, so pretty, don’t know which one is my fave? How come a snapshot really puts things in focus. Maybe cuz when you are looking at all of it it’s too much? Beautiful weather! Beautiful pics!

    • foreverminephotography October 12, 2011 at 7:45 pm #

      Thank you so much, Susan! I agree – snapshots DO put things in focus. I LOVE focusing on beautiful details.
      I think your fave is…..Brad Pitt. Oh wait, that was a different conversation.
      😉

  2. Your mama October 12, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

    You forgot to add “BUGS”. Fall trees have got to be my favorite thing other than bugs. 🙂

    • foreverminephotography October 12, 2011 at 7:46 pm #

      BUGS! Of course!! Did ya like the bees picture? They were funky-looking bees with all-black butts.

  3. denise October 12, 2011 at 1:05 pm #

    Absolutely stunning! 🙂

  4. Heather October 12, 2011 at 4:51 pm #

    Gorgeous Fall photos. This makes me want to go hiking.

    • foreverminephotography October 12, 2011 at 7:47 pm #

      Thanks, Heather! There are a couple of hiking trails there and I told my hubby that we reeeeeally need to go there SOON!!!

Leave a Reply

