Happy Place

10 Oct

What’s your happy place? 

Mine is full of pumpkins, apples, kiddy rides, ponies, goats, caramel, roasted corn, costumes, and tractor-drawn wagons.

If you followed my blog last year you saw my Sonny Acres post.  Here, again, is a photo documentary of my family’s annual visit to the place I have visited every single October since I was knee-high to a grasshopper.

Welcome to Sonny Acres!

IMG_8684

IMG_8582

IMG_8586

Have you ever seen a pumpkin tree?

IMG_8587

There’s nothing quite like cousin love!  (And the tradition lives on….!)

 

IMG_8593

IMG_8597

I will keep the tradition alive for this little peanut as long as I can:

 

IMG_8601

The hayride (which, incidentally, involves absolutely no hay) winds through a path in the woods where creatures ranging from a cheerful Big Bird to a spooky, sharp-toothed zombie are displayed on the trees. 

 

IMG_8605

IMG_8612

Thankfully, she was mesmerized – not freaked out. Smile

IMG_8621

This hay-pig made up for the lack of hay on the wagon.  How cute is he?

 

IMG_8624

Anyplace where there are animals – including ducks with ‘fros – is high on my list.

 

IMG_8627

IMG_8629

A couple of things you don’t see every day:  a guy on bouncy stilts…..

 

IMG_8635

…..and a…..pot of gold.

IMG_8636

 

Sonny Acres is like a farm in the middle of the Chicago ‘burbs.  Gloriously beautiful and refreshing.  And yesterday’s Indian summer weather was PERFECT.  Thank you, God, for making such an amazing day for us to enjoy before the wind begins to howl and the frost appears on the windows!

IMG_8637

IMG_8638

IMG_8641

IMG_8648

IMG_8653

IMG_8657

IMG_8655

IMG_8677

 

Would you take a look at this “caramel apple?”  That’s right – caramel, pecans and chocolate drizzle.  Gluten-free doesn’t always have to be a drag!

IMG_8673

IMG_8666

IMG_8676

 

Just as we were leaving, my girl less-than-subtly pointed out that we had not yet let her pick out her pumpkin.  ‘Really?’ I said to myself, ‘You’re at a PUMPKIN FARM and you were going to leave without letting your five-year-old take one home?!’  So off we went.  She said she wanted a small one.  What we ended up with was one that weighs about as much as said five-year-old.

 

IMG_8679

 

When we got back to Grandma’s house I had a photo shoot with Mackenzie, my 17-year-old niece. What a terrific model she was…we had so much fun!  The photos are on my facebook page if you’d like to see!

Then we celebrated four fall birthdays. 

 

IMG_8681

IMG_8835

Yyyyyyes!  My mama knows how to keep me in coffee – and iPod tunes!

The celebration continued out in the backyard, where we enjoyed pizza and Dad’s homemade chili on the deck.  Oh, and really good root beer.

IMG_8794

 

Just a few more pictures from the day:

 

IMG_8640IMG_8859

IMG_8757

IMG_8783

IMG_8821

IMG_8866

Lots of fresh air will do that to a grandpa.

One little reminder here: I would love to do a photo shoot for you and your family, so let me know if you would like to schedule something soon!  VERY inexpensive, but high-quality (if I do say so myself) photos. 

Thank you for reading! 

Okay now – don’t be afraid to comment.  I promise I won’t bite…. too hard. 

Question for you:  Where is your happy place?

4 Responses to “Happy Place”

  1. Your mama October 10, 2011 at 6:09 pm #

    You know I love Sonny Acres too. Anywhere with family is always my favorite place. Ok, an actual place? I have to say, I love “The Little Traveler” in Geneva, Illinois.

    We sure did have a wonderful day. ❤

  2. Susan October 10, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    Gosh, my happy place? It’s more a state of mind, or a moment when all just feels right and I feel at peace. Well, I had a happy place this morning when I was laying in bed with DH and Jamie was laughing in his sleep, dreaming. : )

Leave a Reply

